Process

The basic principle is the same today as it was a hundred years ago. For the production of fine spirits, carefully selected fruits are processed from optimal ripeness to mash. The natural fructose is converted by the yeast into alcohol, which takes about 2-3 weeks in a refrigerated fermentation. Subsequently, the fruit mash is heated in the boiler until the alcohol evaporates at 79 ° C. The alcohol vapor passes through the booster columns into the cooler, where it condenses again and is finally available as a finished distillate. The whole thing happens in copper kettles, then and now. Because copper is not only an ideal heat conductor, it can be processed well and provides the necessary reactions in the alcohol vapor.

Water, Spirit & Co.

In the case of a water or fire, sugar-rich fruits are processed into mash and distilled twice in the distillation vessel after the fermentation has been completed. First as raw and in the second run as Feinbrand. If these are the pome fruit or quince, the finished distillate is referred to as a brand, while the term water is used for stonefruit such as cherries.

A spirit, on the other hand, comes from low-sugar fruits like raspberries. These are, because they do not produce enough alcohol when fermented in a profitable amount, inserted in alcohol, which is called maceration. Over time, the fruits give off their aroma to the alcohol, and the macerate is then simply distilled in the boiler.

To make liqueurs, the individual ingredients are mixed together in the right amounts and proportions, but above all in the right order, as with a cocktail recipe.

Old and new time

Although the laws of physics and the basic craft of the art of burning have hardly changed in recent decades, this does not apply to distilleries. At Scheibel, the difference from earlier to today in the form of two different firing systems is not only visible but also palatable.

In the plant ,Old times' The fires are distilled in small copper pot stills, which are heated with wood fire. The result of this combustion process are characteristic and unique distillates with a particularly pronounced aroma.

In the distillery ,New time' On the other hand, state-of-the-art fuel boilers are operated via touchscreens and heated with steam. The mash is distilled over gold and many processes are already fully automatic. The firing process produces particularly filigree, mild and multi-faceted products.

Download our infographic here »

Verfahren

Das Grundprinzip ist heute wie vor hundert Jahren das Gleiche. Für die Herstellung von Edelbränden, werden sorgfälig ausgewählte Früchte von optimaler Reife zu Maische verarbeitet. Dabei wird der natürliche Fruchtzucker von der Hefe in Alkohol umgewandelt, was bei einer Kühlgärung etwa 2-3 Wochen dauert. Im Anschluss wird die Fruchtmaische im Brennkessel erhitzt bis der Alkohol bei 79 °C verdampft. Über die Verstärkerkolonnen gelangt der Alkoholdampf in den Kühler, in dem er wieder kondensiert und schließlich als fertiges Destillat vorliegt. Das Ganze geschieht in Kupferkesseln, damals wie heute. Denn Kupfer ist nicht nur ein idealer Wärmeleiter, es lässt sich gut verarbeiten und sorgt für die notwendigen Reaktionen im Alkoholdampf.

Wasser, Geist & Co.

Bei einem Wasser oder Brand werden zuckerreiche Früchte zu Maische verarbeitet und nach der vollendeten Gärung zweifach im Brennkessel destilliert. Zunächst als Roh- und im zweiten Durchlauf als Feinbrand. Sind das Kernobstfrüchte wie Birnen oder Quitten, spricht man beim fertigen Destillat von einem Brand, während man bei Steinobstfrüchten wie Kirschen den Begriff Wasser verwendet.

Ein Geist hingegen entsteht aus zuckerarmen Früchten wie Himbeeren. Diese werden, da sie bei einer Vergärung in rentabler Menge nicht ausreichend Alkohol produzieren, in Alkohol eingelegt, was man Mazeration nennt. Die Früchte geben mit der Zeit ihr Aroma an den Alkohol ab, das Mazerat wird dann später einfach im Brennkessel destilliert.

Um Liköre herzustellen, werden die einzelnen Zutaten wie bei einer Cocktail-Rezeptur in den richtigen Mengen und Verhältnissen, aber vor allem in der richtigen Reihenfolge miteinander vermischt.

Alte und neue Zeit

Auch wenn sich die physikalischen Gesetze und das grundlegende Handwerk der Brennkunst in den letzten Jahrzehnten kaum verändert haben, so gilt das nicht für die Brennereien. Bei Scheibel ist der Unterschied von früher zu heute in Form von zwei unterschiedlichen Brennanlagen nicht nur sichtbar, sondern auch schmeckbar.

In der Anlage ‚Alte Zeit‘ werden die Brände in kleinen kupfernen Brennblasen destilliert, die mit Holzfeuer beheizt werden. Das Ergebnis dieses Brennverfahrens sind charakterstarke und einzigartige Destillate mit einer besonders ausgeprägten Aromatik.

In der Brennerei ‚neue zeit‘ hingegen stehen modernste Brennkessel, die über Touchscreens bedient und mit Wasserdampf erhitzt werden. Die Maische wird über Gold destilliert und viele Prozesse laufen hier bereits vollautomatisch ab. Das Brennverfahren bringt besonders filigrane, milde und facettenreiche Produkte hervor.