From the mill to the fruit brandies

In the green angle 7 took the Story the Scheibel Black Forest distillery their beginning. And just a few meters from the Black Forest distillery, it still stands today, the Scheibel mill. Founder Emil Scheibel worked at a young age in the family mill. But the many farmers, who preferred to pay in natural products such as cherry or plum, brought the then 22-year-old on the idea. He began to trade in brandy and soon delivered the first bottles to Berlin and Leipzig.

1921 then established Emil Scheibel's own distillery in the Green Nook 32 in Kappelrodeck. Son Louis and grandson Michael continued the family heritage mill all the years, with the distillery gaining in importance over the generations.

From the fruit brandies to the whiskey

1986 decided to close the Scheibel family mill, as the mill operation was no longer worthwhile. The Scheibel mill sank into a deep slumber. It was only when the building was taken up in the Kappelrodeck town center that Michael Scheibel decided to bring the mill back to life. The connecting element of Scheibel mill and the Scheibel distillery was soon found: EMILL - whiskey from the mill.

The building has been extensively renovated and expanded for this purpose. For the burning of the whiskey, a separate distillery was also installed, in which only the Scheibel whiskey is fired - an important quality feature. At the end of 2014, chief distiller Frank Blechschmidt started producing the first distillates. To be sold as whiskey, they must be stored for at least three years.

Visit the Website of the Scheibel mill and best sign up for ours today Newsletter

Von der Mühle zu den Obstbränden

Im Grünen Winkel 7 nahm die Geschichte der Scheibel Schwarzwald Brennerei ihren Anfang. Und nur wenige Meter von der Schwarzwald-Brennerei entfernt steht sie bis heute, die Scheibel Mühle. Gründer Emil Scheibel arbeitete bereits in jungen Jahren im Familienbetrieb Mühle mit. Doch die vielen Bauern, die lieber in Naturalien wie Kirsch- oder Zwetschgenwasser zahlten, brachten den damals 22-jährigen auf die Idee. Er begann mit Schnaps zu handeln und lieferte bald schon erste Flaschen nach Berlin und Leipzig.

1921 etablierte Emil Scheibel dann eine eigene Brennerei im Grünen Winkel 32 in Kappelrodeck. Sohn Louis und Enkel Michael führten das Familienerbe Mühle all die Jahre fort, wobei die Brennerei über die Generationen hinweg an Bedeutung gewann.

Von den Obstbränden zum Whisky

1986 entschloss sich die Familie Scheibel die Mühle zu schließen, da sich der Betrieb nicht mehr lohnte. Die Scheibel Mühle versank in einen tiefen Dornröschenschlaf. Erst als das Gebäude in die Ortskernsanierung von Kappelrodeck aufgenommen wurde, entschied Michael Scheibel die Mühle zu neuem Leben zu erwecken. Das verbindende Element von Scheibel Mühle und der Scheibel Brennerei war schnell gefunden: Whisky made in Kappelrodeck.

Das Gebäude wurde zu diesem Zweck umfangreich renoviert und erweitert. Für das Brennen des Whiskys wurde zudem eine eigene Destille installiert, in der ausschließlich der Scheibel Whisky gebrannt wird – ein wichtiges Qualitätsmerkmal. Ende 2014 startete der Chef-Destillateur Frank Blechschmidt mit dem Herstellen der ersten Destillate. Damit diese als Whisky verkauft werden dürfen, müssen sie drei Jahres mindestens lagern.